GEM’s competency framework

As part of our strategy to develop a highly skilled and respected heritage learning workforce, we have developed a new competency framework which underpins our GEM training programme.

Competencies are a mix of the behaviours, attributes, skills and knowledge that are considered necessary to perform effectively at work. They can be a mix of what we bring to the job and performance outputs.  Our former CEO & Chair, Dr John Stevenson, summarises below:

GEM’s competency framework outlines the knowledge, skills and behaviours required of the heritage learning professional through eleven core competencies. Each competency is described at three different levels: foundation, experienced and leading/advanced.

Download the competency framework as a PDF.

The framework is designed to:

  • Help professionalise heritage learning by identifying the core competencies required.
  • Aid heritage educators to assess and focus their continuing professional development.
  • Guide GEM training.
  • Help recruiters identify key competencies for role specifications.
  • Assist performance reviews.

Since introducing the framework we are referencing it in GEM’s foundation course in museum learning, and built it into our training programme of intermediate courses and advanced workshop.

In the longer term, the framework is the first step in establishing professional standards for the heritage learning workforce and we are working with a number of stakeholders to see how best to embed the new framework across non-GEM training events and programmes.

We welcome all feedback on the competency framework and suggestions around its use and development, recognising that it will continue to evolve over time.

Join GEM