Loading Events

« All Events

Inside the Museum: The V&A’s Museum Skills Course

25 September @ 10:30 - 15:30

£1250

Considering a career in galleries and museums? New to the heritage sector and looking to expand your range of skills and experience? Drawing on the expertise of staff from across the V&A, this comprehensive course offers a combination of taught sessions and behind the scenes access. Using V&A case studies, you will gain an insight into the workings of the museum, offering inspiration and guidance in defining your career.

This twelve week part-time course features a combination of taught sessions and behind the scenes access to the V&A’s collections and practitioners. Drawing upon case studies conducted in the museum, individual sessions will be taught by Specialist V&A staff and will explore the internal workings of the V&A – winner of the Art Fund Museum of the Year 2016.

Session topics will include: collections management, research, learning and interpretation, public programming, marketing, exhibitions, and audience engagement.

The dates of this course are: Wednesday 25 Sept, Wednesday 2 Oct, Wednesday 9 Oct, Wednesday 16 Oct, Wednesday 23 October, Wednesday 30 October (First term) & Wednesday 13 Nov, Wednesday 20 Nov, Wednesday 27 Nov, Wednesday 4 Dec, Wednesday 11 Dec, Wednesday 18 Dec (Second term).

Organiser

V&A
Website:
https://www.vam.ac.uk/

Other

Booking URL
https://www.vam.ac.uk/event/L7lrwy39/inside-the-museum-the-v-aa-s-museum-skills-course-autumn-2019
Competency
Professional development
Competency level
Foundation

Venue

V&A
Cromwell Rd
London, SW7 2RL United Kingdom
+ Google Map
Website:
https://www.vam.ac.uk/

Signup to our eBulletin